Category: Databases

Agriculture and Horticulture Databases at Milne!

Spring is on its way to the agriculturally-centered Geneseo, NY region!  Milne Library has access to agricultural and horticultural databases for your research, as well as for gardening and horticultural tips.

AgEconSearch contains over 130,000 records in  agricultural economics, including sub disciplines such as agribusiness, food supply, natural resource economics, environmental economics, policy issues, agricultural trade, and economic development.  Open Access (as in, no login needed!)
http://ageconsearch.umn.edu/

AGRICOLA The AGRicultural Online Access  database contains citations of works in agriculture and related fields published since the fifteenth century. Links to many full-text documents on the web are included.  AGRICOLA is also open to the public. http://agricola.nal.usda.gov/

Agriculture Collection (GALE) A comprehensive database of over 10 million periodicals supporting research in agriculture and related fields, from practical aspects of farming to cutting edge scientific research in horticulture.  This is available on campus only, or via Geneseo single sign-on.
https://go.galegroup.com/ps/start.do?p=PPAG&u=geneseo

Botanicus Digital Library is a freely accessible portal to historic botanical literature, including illustrations and rare volumes  from the Missouri Botanical Garden Library.
https://www.botanicus.org

Gardening, Landscape, and Horticulture Collection offers biotechnologists, farmers, hobbyists, and landscape architects alike access to important content relevant to their pursuits. Popular topics include beekeeping, rose care, mulching, and landscaping.  This is available on campus only, or via Geneseo single sign-on.
https://go.galegroup.com/ps/start.do?p=PPGL&u=geneseo

You can also find these databases on the Milne Library A-Z Databases page, https://libguides.geneseo.edu/az.php

garden flowers geneseo ny

NEXIS UNI: Legal and Business Database at Milne!

Featuring more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. NEXIS UNI also offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches, and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.

NEXIS UNI is conveniently linked on the Milne Library Home page under the “Databases” column.

You can also find it on the Milne Library A-Z Databases page, https://libguides.geneseo.edu/az.php

Arts and Humanities Database: New at Milne!

Hundreds of titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies – right at your fingertips via Milne Library!  The Arts & Humanities database is designed to complement the following indexes: ABM, Avery, BHA, BHI, DAAI, Index Islamicus, MLA, Philosopher’s Index and RILM.

The Arts & Humanities database can be accessed here;

or access it from the Milne Library A-Z Database page, https://libguides.geneseo.edu/az.php

 

 

 

 

 

Featured Database: Rochester Police Department Open Data Portal!

“Engagement through Transparency.” The Rochester, NY  Police Department Open Data Portal is a public platform for exploring and downloading open data, discovering and building apps, and engaging to solve important local issues. You can analyze and combine Open Datasets using maps, as well as develop new web and mobile applications.  A comprehensive collection of  Crime Analysis Resource links is also available on the RPD Open Data Portal.

https://libguides.geneseo.edu/rpd

You can access the RPD Open Data Portal on or off campus.

featured-database-at-milne-library

 

Black History Month: Databases and Resources for you!

February is Black History Month.  Milne Library offers databases and links to literature collections, news archives, scholarly research projects, historical archives, and much more.  Subjects include Abolitionism, the Civil Rights movement, Human Rights, Diversity, and Social Justice. Knowledge is power!

“A collection of current newspapers providing access to news from 1989-present and is cross-searchable.”
Blues, Black Vaudeville, and the Silver Screen, 1912-1930s
“This collection consists of selected correspondence, financial records, contracts, and advertising materials from the Douglass Theater in Macon, Georgia.”
“This web site focuses on the central role played by ordinary people in the Civil Rights Movement.”
Access to scholarly journals and magazines that explore cultural differences, contributions, and influences in the global community.
“Digital library of images, audio, video, documents, and a variety of primary and secondary source materials generated after the death of Michael Brown in August, 2014. This collection is maintained and evaluated by Washington University, and other St. Louis-area institutions.”
Sabin Americana, 1500-1926 (Gale)
“Based on Joseph Sabin’s landmark bibliography, this collection contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900’s. Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions and much more. With over 6 million pages from 29,000 works, this collection is a cornerstone in the study of the western hemisphere.”
Slavery And Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive (Gale)
“The largest and most ambitious project of its kind, this collection is devoted to the scholarly study and understanding of slavery from a multinational perspective. An unprecedented collection developed under the guidance of a board of scholars, it offers never before available research opportunities and endless teaching possibilities.”

Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law
“A multitude of essential legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. This includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery.”

Southern Poverty Law Center (SPLC) Publications
Publications, court cases, extremist files, Intelligence Project articles, Human Rights issues.

 

As always, visit Milne Library’s A-Z Database List for your research and learning needs! Knowledge is Power!

black-history-pioneers

Featured Database! Chronicle of Higher Education

The Chronicle of Higher Education has the nation’s largest newsroom dedicated to covering colleges and universities.

https://libguides.geneseo.edu/che

  • In-depth articles about current issues faced by universities.
  • Data and analysis on the latest enrollment trends and statistics.
  • Chronicle Focus — comprehensive collections of news, commentary, and advice on the topics that matter on campuses today.
  • Collections of articles on important issues in higher education
  • Discussion Forums for all things higher-ed

Full access to the Chronicle of Higher Education is available on campus, or using a Geneseo login.

Chronicle of Higher Education

You too, can have THE POWER, with Gale PowerSearch!

Gale PowerSearch contains over 100 MILLION articles(!), covering a wide array of scholarly journals, magazines, and news  publications.

The PowerSearch tool takes the titles, subjects, and approximately the first 100 words from a subset of your top results and feeds them into an algorithm.

Keywords shown in the graphics are those found most often in the text with your search term. The Topic Search graphically displays terms by relevancy. The more relevant the term, the larger the block.

Gale-power-search-graphical-resultsThis Gale Search Group is part of NovelNewYork, the New York Online Virtual Electronic Library.

Link to Milne Library’s Gale PowerSearch tool:

https://libguides.geneseo.edu/powersearch

Link to the Geneseo Gale Search Group:

http://find.galegroup.com/menu/commonmenu.do?userGroupName=geneseo

Link to NovelNewYork:

http://novelnewyork.org/

 

 

Make the most of your Law research at Milne with HeinOnline search tips!

Milne Library’s HeinOnline resource gives you 160 million pages and 200,000 titles of historical, government, and law-related documents. This post offers a  guide for your legal research needs at Milne. The URL to start your law research journey is https://libguides.geneseo.edu/HeinOnline Continue reading…

American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection at Milne!

Over 7500 periodical titles, published between 1691 and 1877, are available.  Subjects include: science, technology, medicine, Native American and African American populations, law, politics, government, music, the arts, literature, language, publishing, agriculture, business and industry, advertising and marketing, religion, philosophy, social movements, military matters, and leisure activities. Continue reading…